Adding warning and critical thresholds to nagios

Nugget post

The nagios user interface looks something similar to:

As can be seen, Nagios marks with green any service within acceptable “tolerances”. It marks in orange any warnings, and in red any critical services. In order to control when Nagios marks a service as “warning” and when as “critical”, most nagios plugins allow the use of the -w and -s swtiches which mean warning and critical respectively.

This is especially useful in SNMP, where a warning should be given if the SNMP value returned is above a certain threshold.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s